St Mary’s Church stands as an important landmark in the park of 17C Barningham Hall. Winter is the surname of the family who owned the hall. It is a picturesque ruin with the chancel and later fore-building (added in 1830) remaining roofed and in use for parish worship and use. In 1602 it was described as “long since utterly decayed.” The building is flint with limestone ashlar dressings and plain tile roofs. The bell tower is C14 and houses an unusual steel bell, one of three in Norfolk. Inside the church there is a piscina and triple sedilia which have survived from the Middle Ages. The carved reredos depicts a group of soldiers around a cross. During WWII there was a POW camp in the grounds of the hall and soldiers held their own services in the church. St Mary’s is loved by all who visit and makes an excellent destination for a bike ride or walk.