Follow Us:

Bishops & Senior Staff


The Diocese of Norwich is divided into three archdeaconries.

The Bishop of Norwich, the Rt Revd Graham Usher is the diocesan Bishop. He is supported by two suffragan Bishops. The Rt Revd Ian Bishop is the Bishop of Thetford and the Rt Revd Dr Jane Steen is the Bishop of Lynn. They cover respectively the archdeaconries of Norfolk and Lynn.

Diocesan bishops have significant responsibilities within their dioceses, which are administrative regions that consist of multiple parishes and chaplaincies, and have a particular care for the those with whom ministry is shared.


Archdeacons are senior priests with responsibility under the diocesan bishop for the pastoral care of clergy in their archdeaconry and the care of churches and parsonages. They work closely with the bishop covering the same part of the diocese.

Senior Staff

The Diocesan Secretary and The Dean of Norwich