The Diocese of Norwich covers 1,800 square miles, with a population of around 879,000. We organise this vast area into 21 smaller areas called 'deaneries'.

Each area has its own Deanery Synod - which is made up of clergy and elected church members from the parishes within the area - and they meet 3 or 4 times a year.  A Rural Dean is appointed by the bishop to co-ordinate, encourage and assist the clergy and parishes in the deanery.