Deanery Synods

Each deanery has its own Deanery Synod which consists of lay members and clergy.

Lay members are elected at Annual Parochial Church meetings and the clergy of the deanery meet under the joint chairmanship of the Area (Rural) Dean and the Lay Chair.

Members are elected for three years and address issues of concern to the church and community at the local level.  Matters are sent to them from the diocese and the General Synod and resolutions passed can be sent up for discussion at the higher levels. Members are also the electors for the diocese and vote in the elections for Diocesan Synod and General Synod.

Elections to Deanery Synods take place in 2023.  The election of representatives should precede the election of PCC members (because Synod representatives become ex-officio members of PCCs)  at the Annual Parochial Church Meeting (APCM). Those elected will take office on 1 July 2023 and will serve for three years until 30 June 2026.

You may find the APCM forms page helpful when raising the appropriate paperwork.

Should you have any questions please contact Michele O’Keefe on or telephone 01603 882325.  You may also be interested to know we are running a number of seminars in the early part of next year dealing with the important changes to the Church Representation Rules and Faculty Jurisdiction.  Further details can be found here.