Follow Us:

General Synod

The national assembly of the Church of England who make decisions on doctrine and practice.

The General Synod is the national assembly of the Church of England. It came into being in 1970 replacing an earlier body known as the Church Assembly. It continues a tradition of synodical government which, in England, has its origins in the medieval period.

It consists of bishops, clergy and laity who meet twice a year (occasionally three times) to make decisions on the doctrine and practice of the Church of England.  It votes the funding for the work of the church centrally.

As well as matters of worship and discipline, it also addresses wider concerns, national and international, and seeks to articulate a Christian approach to the issues of the day.  Elected members serve for 5 years. 

Find out more about General Synod in the video.

General Synod election results

The Elections for lay and clergy representatives of the Diocese of Norwich to the General Synod have now concluded.

The results of the election are as follows:

Elected to serve as Proctors in Convocation (House of Clergy)
  • The Revd Canon Catherine Dobson
  • The Revd Graham Kirk-Spriggs
  • The Revd Dr Patrick Richmond
Elected to serve as members of the House of Laity

The results sheet can now be downloaded by clicking on the relevant links below

Causal Vacancy Election

Following the resignation of the Revd Ven Karen Hutchinson as a proctor (clergy representative) for the Diocese of Norwich on General Synod, a casual vacancy arose. The relevant votes cast in September and October last year have now been recounted (in accordance with the Election Rules), and the candidate elected to fill the casual vacancy is the Revd Canon Howard Stoker. He now joins his fellows proctors elected in October last year:

  • Revd Canon Howard Stoker

The result sheet can now be downloaded by clicking on the link below

Casual election results – Proctors in Convocation