Follow Us:


The Diocese of Norwich covers 1,800 square miles, with a population of around 917,000, and we organise this vast area into 20 smaller areas called deaneries.

Each area has its own Deanery Synod – which is made up of clergy and elected church members from the parishes within the area – and they meet 3 or 4 times a year.

A Rural Dean is appointed by the bishop to coordinate, encourage and assist the clergy and parishes in the deanery.

In accordance with the Church Representation Rules (CRR), at their October 2019 meeting Diocesan Synod approved procedural Rules for Deanery Synods. They are complementary to the CRR, giving a holistic setting within the Diocesan context but allow discretion for each Deanery Synod on how to use them.

You can find out more about church governance here.  

You can download detailed OS maps showing the deanery areas here

Deaneries in the Diocese of Norwich

Click on the links below to find out Parish & Benefice information.