Nr Barningham Hall
Regular open days/time: Open dawn to dusk
Church building description: St Mary's Barningham Winter stands as an important landmark in the park of Barningham Hall which was remodelled by Humphrey Repton around 1815. It is a picturesque ruin with the chancel and later fore-building (added in 1830) remaining roofed and in use for parish worship and use. In 1602 it is described as "long since utterly decayed." The building is flint with limestone ashlar dressings and plain tile roofs. The bell tower is C14 and houses an unusual steel bell, one of three in Norfolk. Inside the church there is a piscina and triple sedilia which have survived from the Middle Ages. It is loved by all who visit and makes an excellent destination for a bicycle ride or walk.
Grade II* listed building
On a footpath, trail or cycle route