Follow Us:

DAC (Church buildings committee)

The Diocesan Advisory Committee (DAC) is a statutory committee which provides advice to parishes, the Diocesan Chancellor and the Archdeacons in relation to church buildings, their contents and churchyards. The duties of the Committee and its constitution are governed by the current Faculty Jurisdiction Measure and Rules.

Members of the DAC are appointed for their knowledge and expertise in the care and use of churches. It comprises clergy and laity from across the Diocese including the Archdeacons, practising and retired architects, architectural historians and building surveyors. The Committee plays an important role in advising on faculty matters, as its formal advice is required by the Diocesan Chancellor, and on proposals which may lead to applications for faculty at a later stage. It is important to remember that the DAC only acts in an advisory capacity; the final decision on a faculty application is made by the Diocesan Chancellor. DAC advice may also be sought by the Archdeacons about List B applications. 

The DAC Sub-committee meets during the week before the main DAC meeting, and comprises five DAC members. Attendance is organised via a rota and there is always a practising or retired architect present. Members are able to suggest to the main DAC that particular applications be recommended for approval. Additional information may be requested from applicants following the Sub-committee meeting with the aim of receiving it in time for the main meeting. 

Committee Members 

  • Chair: Mr Andrew Barnes
  • Vice Chair: Mr Mark Lusher
  • The Venerable Keith James, Archdeacon of Norwich
  • The Venerable Steven Betts, Archdeacon of Norfolk
  • The Venerable Catherine Dobson, Archdeacon of Lynn
  • Mr Neil Birdsall
  • The Revd Peter Cook
  • Mr David Eve
  • The Revd Miriam Fife
  • The Revd Canon Nicholas Garrard
  • Mr Stephen Heywood
  • The Revd Canon Stuart Nairn
  • The Revd Canon Aidan Platten
  • The Revd Tony Redman
  • Mr Nigel Sunter
  • Mr Tim Sweeting
  • Dr Susanna Wade-Martins
  • Mr Iain Walker
The dates for the DAC Sub-committee in 2024 are:
  • 23 January
  • 5 March
  • 16 April
  • 28 May
  • 9 July
  • 27 August
  • 1 October
  • 29 October
  • 3 December
The dates for the main DAC meetings in 2024 are:
  • 1 February
  • 14 March
  • 25 April
  • 6 June
  • 18 July
  • 5 September
  • 10 October
  • 7 November
  • 12 December

Papers/information to be submitted at least a week before the date of the meeting.

Documents and downloads

Committee members can download documents through the secure area of the website.

Click here to log in and view available files.