Follow Us:

Howzat! The Bishops Cricket Match

Share This Post

The weather was very hot; not surprising given the current heat wave! Bishop Jonathan (the Lynn Team) won the toss and chose to bat first in the 20 over contest, with both Bishops Jonathan and Alan (team Thetford) eager to win the bragging rights as well as the cup!

Bishop Graham was the umpire for the game and as the game progressed raised his episcopal finger to dismiss some batsmen.

Thetford opened the bowling with the very quick and accurate Tony Heywood who struck in the first over to leave Team Lynn 0 for 1. As the Lynn innings progressed the boundaries began to come, with Mark Capron hitting a six before retiring on 25 not out. Debutant John Marrow reached 25 as well as Corin Child and both retired before the Lynn innings came to a close with the score at a respectable 106.

A delightful tea including delicious homemade cakes was enjoyed thanks to Ann Whitett. The Lynn team took to the field with Thetford keen to chase down the score; but as per the Lynn’s opening over the Thetford team were also 0 for 1 after Capron struck in the first over – honours even at that point.

The Thetford team began to power towards their target with a number of big boundaries (both 4 and 6s) from Heywood and Jon Skoulding both retiring quickly at reaching 25 runs each. The Thetford wickets began to fall quickly, with Marrow taking three before Heywood and Skoulding returned to the crease continuing where they had left off hitting boundaries. With remaining overs on their side Thetford needed just 21 runs off the final 6 overs; but Corin Child struck to take the final wicket giving Team Lynn the victory much to Bishop Jonathan’s pleasure.

Thanks go to Bishop Graham for umpiring, the supporters on the day, Graham Wilkins for being Wicket Keeper for both teams and for all who played the game in such a wonderful way. We look forward to next years Bishops game on Friday 14 June 2019.