

## **Thumbnail outline of Property Committee**

The Property Committee holds all the functions of the Parsonage Board, delegated to it by the Bishop's Council of Trustees acting as the executive board of the Norwich Diocesan Board of Finance. The Property Committee reports to the Finance Committee and undertakes the provision, maintenance, upkeep and improvement of Parsonage houses; considerations of acquisition and disposal or exchange of Parsonage houses and letting such houses during vacancies. The Committee also deals with the NDBF's own properties. Currently there are around 260 properties located throughout the diocese.

The Property Committee comprise of up to 10 members:

• Chair, appointed by the Bishop's Council of Trustees in consultation with the Nominations Committee and with the agreement of the Bishop of Norwich (currently Mark Little)

• The Archdeacons of Norwich, Norfolk, and Lynn

• Up to six other members, of whom not less than one third shall be ordained clergy elected by those clergy who are beneficed (s1 Repair of Benefice Buildings Measure 1972) and not less than one third shall be lay members appointed by the Nominations Committee.

## Ideal knowledge skills, some or all of the following:

- An interest in residential property including the welfare and security of our clergy families and rental occupiers
- Property and building construction
- The tendering process and awarding of building contracts using JCT minor works contract
- Property legislation relating to purchase and sale of residential property
- Landlord and Tenant Act and legislation relating to leasing of residential property

Members of the Property Committee will be appointed for a three-year term and may serve up to two further terms, serving no more than nine consecutive years.

Dates of forthcoming meetings: Thursday 9 September, Thursday 7 October, Thursday 11 November, Wednesday 8 December 2021