Board of Education

This is a statutory body established under the Diocesan Boards of Education Measure 1991.

The functions of the Diocesan Board of Education include: the promotion of education consistent with the faith and practice of the Church of England; the promotion of religious education and religious worship in schools and academies; the promotion of Church schools and academies in the diocese; and advice to school governors on any matter affecting Church schools and academies.

The Board meets three times a year and has four subgroups / committees:

  • School performance and staff development group (meets three times a year)
  • Distinctiveness group (meets three times a year)
  • Site, Buildings and finance committee (meets six times a year)
  • Executive committee (meets three times a year)

DBE Members (From January 2019)

NameStatusCommittee / Group
Mark Allbrook (Chair)Bishop (or nominated rep)All (Chair of Board and Executive Committee)
The Rt Revd Dr Alan Winton (Bishop of Thetford)Bishop’s nominationExec.
Edward GouldBishop’s nominationSchool perf. & staff dev.
Rosalie MonbiotElectedSBF (Chair) and Exec.
Jennie VereElectedDistinctiveness (Chair) and Exec.
Teresa OsborneElectedSchool perf. & staff dev. (Chair) and Exec
The Revd Carol PritchardElectedDistinctiveness
The Revd Michael AsquithElectedDistinctiveness
David GriffithElectedSchool perf. & staff dev.
Gerry PalmerElectedSBF
Mat Tuckwood (Headteacher Whitefriars primary academy)Co-optedDistinctiveness
Mary Dolan (Executive Headteacher Pilgrim Federation)Co-optedSchool perf. & staff dev.
John Crowley (Norfolk Children’s Services)Co-optedSchool perf. & staff dev.
Josie Barnett (Horstead Centre Manager)Co-optedSBF