Founded by the Lady Richeldis in 1061, destroyed by Henry VIII in 1538, restored in 1922 by Father Hope Patten, the Anglican Vicar of Walsingham – the Anglican Shrine of Our Lady of Walsingham has had an eventful history across nearly a thousand years.
This medieval place of pilgrimage, which rivalled Canterbury as a destination, was visited by thousands of pilgrims from all across Britain and Europe. It became known as ‘England’s Nazareth’ because of the nature of the vision which the Lady Richeldis experienced.
Today, after 350 years of post-Reformation neglect, the past 95 years have witnessed the dramatic restoration of pilgrimage to Walsingham.
At the heart of the Shrine of Our Lady lies the Holy House containing the image of Our Lady of Walsingham. The Holy House itself is contained within the highly-decorated Shrine Church.
In the Shrine grounds can be found everything a pilgrim, tourist or visitor needs – residential accommodation, meeting rooms, the refectory, a café-bar and beautiful gardens. The Welcome Centre – part of the Milner Wing – offers fascinating insights into both historic and present day Walsingham.
Find out more about the Anglican Shrine of Our Lady of Walsingham on their website.